CCCEP Announces New Executive Officers

For Immediate Release

December 5, 2022 St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador – At its November 25, 2022 Annual General Meeting, the Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP) elected new Executive Officers to its Board of Directors.

Sheena Deane was elected president of CCCEP, after concluding a two-year term as Vice-President. Pamela Timanson is a first-time member of the Executive Team, assuming the position of CCCEP’s Vice-President, and Ashifa Keshavji, President from 2020 to November 2022, moved to the position of Past President.

President Deane stated that “it is with great pride and anticipation that I step into the role of President, as the first Pharmacy Technician to serve in this capacity. I am humbled by the opportunity and mindful of the incredible leadership example set by the previous Presidents.” She added that she was “looking forward to working with the Board of Directors over the next two years. I am grateful for the Board’s strong skills, experience and commitment to CCCEP, which will be of great benefit in fulfilling my duties as President.”

President Deane joined the Board of Directors of CCCEP in 2008. Sheena Deane is registered pharmacy technician, with over 30 years experience in hospital and community pharmacy practice settings as well as pharmacy benefit management. She currently holds the position of Manager of Pharmacy Operations with a community pharmacy in Ontario. Ms. Deane has been a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Association of Pharmacy Technicians (CAPT) since 2001 and currently serves as Vice-President of CAPT. She served on CCCEP’s Governance Committee for a number of years, as well as previous CCCEP task groups, and is currently the Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee.

Vice-President Timanson joined the Board of Directors of CCCEP in 2017. Pamela Timanson currently holds the position of Competence Director for the Alberta College of Pharmacy (ACP). She is also an Adjunct Professor with the Faculty of Education at the University of Alberta Prior to entering her directorship position, Dr. Timanson taught undergraduate courses in the Faculty of Education and facilitated online modules and held research positions with the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences. She was also a high school science teacher for 12 years. Since joining the CCCEP board, she has served on CCCEP’s Accreditation Policy Committee for three years, and is currently Chair of this committee. She is also a current member of the Needs Assessment Working Group and previously served on another CCCEP task group..

Past President Keshavji joined the Board of Directors in May 2005. Ashifa Keshavji is the Director of Practice Reviews & Quality Assurance at the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia. She has a background in community pharmacy and has worked in many areas at the College including on the OnCall Line, assessment development, PharmaNet, and conducting inspections. Ms. Keshavji served as Chair of the Audit and Finance Committee from 2007 to 2019, and continues to be a member of that committee. She also is a current member the Needs Assessment Working Group and previously served on other CCCEP task groups.

“CCCEP welcomes Vice-President Timanson to the Executive team, and is pleased to have Sheena Deane assume the role of President and Ashifa Keshavji continue to provide her support in moving to the role of Past-President” began Colleen Janes, “their diverse backgrounds and strong leadership approaches will provide great benefit to the Board during their term”.


CCCEP is a national organization established to accredit continuing pharmacy education programs intended to be delivered to pharmacy professionals from more than one province or nationally.

CCCEP accreditation is recognized by the pharmacy regulatory authorities in all provinces and territories of Canada.


For more information, please contact:

Colleen Janes, B. Sc. (Pharm)

Executive Director

Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP)

Phone: 709-221-4082